Georges Gauvreau (1863 or 1866-1949)
 
George Gauvreau played an instrumental role in the advent and success of professional French-language theatre in Montreal. The stars were aligned from the beginning: his restaurant was located next to the site where the actor and stage director Julien Daoust was building the future Théâtre National (on St. Catherine St., near the corner of Beaudry), which opened in August 1900. Faced with financial difficulties, Daoust sold the theatre to Gauvreau scarcely three weeks afterwards. Gauvreau undertook immediate renovations. He knew that to ensure the profitability of the company, it would have to attract French speakers who regularly attended English theatres. This entailed offering this audience the same kinds of shows but in French. To this end, Gauvreau recruited Paul Cazeneuve, entrusting him with the artistic direction of his theatre. A French artist who made his career working in the main touring American companies, Cazeneuve undertook to put together Quebec versions of the biggest Broadway hits (which were often adaptations of London’s versions of the biggest Parisian hits). They were an immediate success and audiences were thrilled. Gauvreau then promoted the development of a successful new genre, the revue Québécoise, which brought great numbers of people to the Théâtre National.
In 1907, Gauvreau built the Nationoscope, a six hundred-seat cinema located at the corner of St. Andrew and St. Catherine Streets, with the avowed aim of competing with his former lighting engineer Léo-Ernest Ouimet , whose Ouimetoscope (located right next to the National Theatre) was attracting large audiences. An audacious businessman with brilliant artistic flair, Georges Gauvreau surrounded himself with gifted artists and performers (from Quebec and elsewhere) who gave his professional French-language theatre momentum and turned it into an impressive force.
 
 
test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Sirois-Trahan, Jean-Pierre. 1996. “Quand le Nationoscope dama le pion au Ouimetoscope.” In Gaudreault, André, Germain Lacasse, Jean-Pierre Sirois-Trahan, Au pays des ennemis du cinéma… pour une nouvelle histoire des débuts du cinéma au Québec, p. 163-177. Québec: Nuit blanche éditeur.

Gauvreau, Georges
 
Georges Gauvreau a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’avènement et le succès du théâtre professionnel francophone à Montréal. Le hasard l’a bien servi puisqu’il possédait le restaurant adjacent à l’endroit où le comédien et metteur en scène Julien Daoust faisait construire le futur Théâtre National (sur Sainte-Catherine, près du coin de Beaudry) inauguré en août 1900. Confronté à des difficultés financières, Daoust cède son théâtre à Gauvreau à peine trois semaines après l’ouverture. Ce dernier y entreprend immédiatement des rénovations. Il sait que pour assurer la rentabilité de l’entreprise, il doit détourner le public francophone des salles anglaises qu’il fréquente avec assiduité. Et il comprend que le seul moyen d’y arriver est d’offrir à ce public le même type de spectacles, mais en français. C’est dans ce but qu’il recrute Paul Cazeneuve et lui confie la direction artistique de son théâtre. Artiste français ayant fait carrière dans les grandes compagnies américaines de tournée, Cazeneuve entreprend de québéciser les plus grands succès de Broadway (qui sont souvent des adaptations américaines de versions londoniennes des plus grands succès parisiens). Le succès est immédiat et le public est séduit. Gauvreau favorise ensuite le développement d’un nouveau genre à succès, la revue québécoise, dont le Théâtre National va largement bénéficier.
En 1907, Gauvreau construit le Nationoscope, salle de cinéma de six cents places située au coin des rues Saint-André et Sainte-Catherine, dans le but avoué de concurrencer son ancien éclairagiste (on utilisait à l’époque le terme « électricien »), Léo-Ernest Ouimet, dont le Ouimetoscope (qui se trouve juste à côté du Théâtre National) attire les foules. Homme d’affaires audacieux, possédant un excellent flair artistique, Georges Gauvreau a su s’entourer de créateurs et d’artistes particulièrement doués (du Québec et de l’étranger) et donner au théâtre professionnel francophone l’élan qui devait l’imposer de manière définitive.
 
 
test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Sirois-Trahan, Jean-Pierre. 1996. « Quand le Nationoscope dama le pion au Ouimetoscope ». Dans Gaudreault, André, Germain Lacasse, Jean-Pierre Sirois-Trahan, Au pays des ennemis du cinéma… pour une nouvelle histoire des débuts du cinéma au Québec, p. 163-177. Québec : Nuit blanche éditeur.