The Allen Family
 
The brothers Jule and Jay J. Allen were not yet twenty years old when they opened their first theatorium in Brantford, Ontario in 1906. However, their lack of experience was not a significant handicap in the nascent film industry. Within a few years, the Allen brothers found themselves at the head of the most important movie theatre chain in Canada. At its peak in the early 1920s, their company controlled several theatres, including some of the most luxurious in the country, such as the New Grand, the Allen’s Westmount (1918) and the Allen (1921, the future Palace) in Montreal and the Auditorium (the future Capitol) and the Allen theatres in Quebec City. Jule and Jay J., whose ambitions knew no bounds, also built two huge palaces during the same period in the United States, in Cleveland and Detroit. In addition, they planned to build in the heart of London one of the most prestigious movie theatres in the world.
The success of the two brothers largely rested on their distribution activities. They were nonetheless beaten to the distribution of the popular Famous Players-Lasky films by one of their acquaintances, Nathan L. Nathanson. This move allowed Nathanson to establish the well-known Famous Players chain, which was the first real competitor to the Allens. The two chains quickly enter into fierce competition; within weeks of each other, Famous Players and the Allens inaugurated the two most luxurious Montreal palaces in the spring of 1921.
However, the stiff competition quickly depleted the Allens, whose financial footing was not as strong as that of Famous Players. The two brothers were forced to declare bankruptcy in 1923 and relinquish most of their chain to Famous Players. Nonetheless, Jule and Jay J. did not abandon the film industry altogether. Despite their inability to compete with Famous Players, the Allens continued to distribute and exhibit films long after the arrival of talking pictures in the early 1930s.
 
 
test
  Document larger view  
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Cox, Kirwan, 2000. “The Rise and Fall of the Allens: The War for Canada’s Movie Theatres.” Lonergan Review, no. 6, p. 44-81.

Allen, la famille
 
Les frères Jule et Jay J. Allen n’ont pas vingt ans lorsqu’ils ouvrent leur premier theatorium à Brantford, en Ontario, en 1906. Leur manque d’expérience ne constitue cependant pas un trop lourd handicap dans cette industrie naissante… En quelques années, les frères Allen se retrouvent à la tête de la plus importante chaîne de salles de cinéma du Canada. À son apogée au tournant des années 1920, leur entreprise contrôle plusieurs cinémas parmi les plus luxueux du pays, dont le New Grand, le Allen’s Westmount (1918) et le Allen (1921, futur Palace) de Montréal, ainsi que l’Auditorium (futur Capitol) et le théâtre Allen de Québec. Jule et Jay J., dont l’ambition n’a pas de frontières, font également construire à la même époque deux gigantesques palaces à Cleveland et Détroit, aux États-Unis. Ils planifient de plus la construction au cœur de Londres de l’une des plus prestigieuses salles de cinéma au monde.
Le succès des Allen repose notamment sur leurs activités de distribution. Ils se font toutefois ravir en 1919 la primeur des populaires films Famous Players-Lasky par une de leurs connaissances, Nathan L. Nathanson. Ce coup permet à ce dernier de monter le circuit Famous Players, premier véritable concurrent des Allen. Les deux chaînes se lancent rapidement dans une féroce compétition : Famous Players et les Allen inaugurent ainsi les deux plus luxueux palaces de Montréal, le Capitol et le Allen, à quelques semaines d’intervalle au printemps 1921.
Mais cette vive compétition éreinte rapidement l’entreprise des Allen, dont les assises financières ne sont pas aussi solides que celles de Famous Players. Les deux frères sont ainsi forcés en 1923 de déclarer faillite et de céder la majeure partie de leur circuit à Famous Players. Jule et Jay J. n’abandonnent toutefois pas l’industrie cinématographique. Même si leur entreprise n’est plus en position de rivaliser avec Famous Players, les Allen continuent à s’occuper de distribution et d’exploitation cinématographique longtemps après l’arrivée du cinéma parlant au tournant des années 1930.
 
 
test
  Agrandir le document  
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Cox, Kirwan, 2000. « The Rise and Fall of the Allens : The War for Canada’s Movie Theatres ». Lonergan Review, no 6, p. 44-81.