Interactive Journey

Rural milieu (1897 – 1905)

-- Presentation
  The first film projection in Canada took place in Montreal on June 27, 1896, thanks to French projectionists Louis Minier and Louis Pupier. Their Lumière Cinematograph enabled the Canadian public to discover the magic of moving images. As for the viscount Henry de Grandsaigne d’Hauterives and his mother Marie de Kerstrat, they were among the first travelling projectionists in Quebec, particularly active from 1897 to 1906. Originally from France, the duo travelled across the province projecting films from French companies such as Lumière, Méliès and Pathé.

Charles Pathé
Marie de Kerstrat
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source: Serge Duigou and Germain Lacasse,Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe.Rennes: Ouest-France, 2002.
Charles Pathé and his brother Émile founded the French film production company Pathé in 1896.  

Frères Lumière
The Historiograph Team
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Duigou, Serge et Germain Lacasse.Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe . Rennes:Ouest-France, 2002.
Auguste and Louis Lumière, famous for the invention of the Lumière cinematograph, which functioned as both camera and projector, are among the few pioneers of cinema. Marie de Kerstrat and Henry d’Hauterives, accompanied by their employees, in front of their nickelodeon in St.Louis, Missouri in 1908. Henry d’Hauterives, fifth to the right, is dressed in a white shirt. Marie de Kerstrat is at the ticket counter.

Henry d’Hauterives
photo
Source: Serge Duigou and Germain Lacasse, Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe(Rennes: Ouest-France, 2002).
Henry d’Hauterives was one of the first travelling projectionists and film lecturers in Quebec.
photo

-- Advertising
  Beginning in1896, projectionists in Quebec travelled from city to city with their projectors, which they christened with specific names in order to distinguish them from others, such as Henry d’Hauterives and his Historiographe.Screenings were held in public places, such as church halls, schools and parks. Young people often advertised these events by distributing programs on the street. The first animated views (they were not referred to as cinema yet)drew their inspiration from other kinds of live entertainment, such as magic lantern shows, theatre and magic acts.The most common films were short fictions and actualities of various events.

Sohmer Parc
West End Park
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Montreal’s Sohmer Park offered film screenings to regular people between 1897 and 1915. This Ottawa Park was the site of the first Canadian showing of Edison’s new projector, the Vitascope,on July 21, 1896, just a few weeks after the first Lumière Cinematograph presentation in Montreal.The event’s promoters, brothers George and Andrew Holland, had presented the world premiere of Edison’s Kinetoscope in a New York arcade two years earlier.

Electric Theatre
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Travelling presentations of films often accompanied fairground shows in the early days of cinema
photo

-- Programs

photo
photo

photo
photo

photo
photo
photo

-- Transportation
  During the period of Henry d’Hauterives, projectionists also undertook the role of lecturer and editor. The film reel was considered raw material that could be cut and edited according to the projectionist’s taste. In this sense, they contributed to the creative process by creating an entertainment from several pieces – from the purchase of the films to their assembly. Projectionists would also decide the order in which views were projected. Several years later, with the growth in the number of screening halls, known as nickelodeons, the majority of projectionists stopped moving from place to place. This obliged them to present new film programs on a regular basis. From then on, projectionists would have to rent films from distributors rather than buying them, which limited their ability to edit films.
photo

-- Exhibition site
  The travelling practice of Henry d’Hauterives and Marie de Kerstrat belongs to “ fairground cinema,” typical of the period. Touring from big cities to small ones, they made sure to schedule their visits according to times of agricultural fairs and popular celebrations. While animated views were the main attraction of these film shows, the accompanying music and lectures were also essential. Lecturers relied on their verbal and acting talents to arouse interest in the audience. Since live performances were part of the show, each projection was unique.

Sohmer Parc
Auditorium
photo
photo
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
The music pavilion in Montreal’s Sohmer Park accommodated film screenings beginning in 1902. Film screenings were often presented in community halls like this one, at Loyola College in Montreal.
photo

Working class milieu (1906-1914)

-- Presentation
  Léo-Ernest Ouimet was the most important Quebec personality of the silent era. He began his career as a projectionist and then moved on to becoming an exhibitor, director, distributor and producer. On January 1,1906, he became the manager of a movie theatre that carried his name, the Ouimetoscope.

A Caricature of Ouimet
photo
Source : GRAFICS
Léo-Ernest Ouimet was the official Canadian distributor of Pathé Company films. In this caricature by Jos Violin,published in the Canadian Moving Picture Digest on July 1,1921, Pathé’s emblem, the rooster, is perched on Ouimet’s tripod.
photo

-- Transportation
  Beginning in 1906, nickelodeons (“scopes” in French), the first places specifically devoted to cinema, began to grow in number – there were already thirty or so in Montreal by 1908. The Ouimetoscope was a notch above other Montreal nickelodeons because of the refined touches Ouimet gave his theatre. His nickelodeon was a precursor to the emergence of other more luxurious theatres, called “palaces”, several years later.
photo

-- Advertising
  Views projected in Canada were usually imported from the United States or France. For many years, Léo- Ernest Ouimet distributed films made by Pathé, a French production company with active operations in the United States. Ouimet and his camera operator Lactance Giroux also filmed local actualities which were then projected at the Ouimetoscope. Ouimet occasionally tried other cinema genres. In 1908, for example, he shot a short fiction film called Baptiste et son cochon (Baptiste and his Pig).

The Ouimetoscope Premiere
Red Mill
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
In an old theatre on January 1, 1906, Léo-Ernest Ouimet opened the first Montreal venue dedicated to animated views: the Ouimetoscope. It was demolished in summer 1907 to make place for a new, larger and more spacious Ouimetoscope. The Theatorium, inaugurated in March 1906, was Toronto’s first venue for animated views. When this picture was taken in 1914, it had already been several years since the theatre was renamed the Red Mill.

The Princess
Storefront
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
The Princess cinema in Edmonton, Alberta, around 1915. This Ontario cinema (1914) is typical of the first nickelodeons that were installed in shops. The flashiness of the advertisement displayed on the theatre’s façade hints at a hasty conversion.
photo

-- Programs
  Nickelodeons usually had a working-class clientele. However, Ouimet attempted to attract a more varied audience, both from middle and working classes. With this goal in mind, Ouimet raised the price of admission slightly and established a schedule for his screenings. While the screenings of most other nickelodeons were less than an hour and presented a continuous show of repeated films over the course of the day, the Ouimetoscope offered shows that could last as long as two and a half hours.

 
 
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise

 
 
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise

 
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
photo

-- Exhibition site
  As with travelling projections, movie shows were not limited only to projecting films. Shows were generally accompanied by music and often by a lecturer. In Quebec, the practice of lecturing remained widespread up until the arrival of talking pictures. During reel changes, variety numbers and illustrated songs were presented. The lyrics to the songs were usually published later on in periodicals like Passe-temps and Montréal qui chante. The Ouimetoscope came out with its own series of illustrated songs around 1910.

Hollywood Filming
Hollywood Filming
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
During the 1910s, the distributor Léo-Ernest Ouimet imported many Pathé films to Canada,including those of Harold Lloyd. This photograph was taken during a visit Ouimet made to the set of one of Lloyd’s films. Harold Lloyd, renowned actor of American slapstick cinema in the 1920s, photographed in action during the filming of one of his comedies.
photo

Middle class milieu (1915-1930)

-- Presentation
  Rae Levinsky, better known as Ray Lewis, came from a Jewish family that immigrated to Canada in the 1880s. From 1918 to 1954, she was the editor-in-chief of the Canadian Moving Picture Digest, the first journal addressed to Canadian producers, distributors and exhibitors. Ray Lewis started her career as a theatre and vaudeville performer. Within the film milieu, she worked as a screenwriter in the 1910s and as a distributor and exhibitor in the 1930s and 40s.

Ray Lewis
Caricature by Ray Lewis
photo
photo
Source : GRAFICS Source : GRAFICS
This portrait of Ray Lewis, published in the Canadian Moving Picture Digest on December 24,1927, is the work of Joshua Smith, the British painter Lewis married in 1920. Cartoon published on the front page of Canadian Moving Picture Digest on October 4, 1930. The editor-in-chief of the magazine, Ray Lewis,campaigning at the time for both more British films a greater presence of British cinema on Canadian screens and the holding of an investigation into the monopolistic practices of the American film industry.
photo

-- Advertising
  In the 1920s, the Famous Players Canadian movie theatre chain began to exercise more and more influence on the Canadian film industry. In Digest editorials, Lewis defended independent movie theatre owners by denouncing the monopolizing practices of Famous Players Canadian. Lewis also argued for the greater presence of British and Canadian films on national screens.
photo

-- Programs
  In the 1910s, cinema became a true mass medium, attracting both the middle class and the working class. This expansion of film’s public sphere was facilitated by daily newspapers, which at the time were regularly publishing advertisements for new palaces. Newspapers specifically oriented to movie fans also appeared during this time, such as the Panorama in Montreal in 1919. As for members of the film industry, other magazines, such as Lewis’ Canadian Moving Picture Digest, addressed their needs. All of these publications contributed to making film a part of popular culture and the economic lives of Canadians.
photo

-- Transportation

Strand
Isis
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
The Strand, the first movie palace in Montreal, was erected in 1912. This Calgary cinema’s façade is covered by a surprisingly large number of posters. During the 1920s, palace posters were more subdued, in keeping with tastes in period.

Capitol
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Like many theatres belonging to the renowned Famous Players Canadian chain, this Saskatchewan movie theatre was named the Capitol.
photo

-- Exhibition site
  By the 1910s and 1920s, even with neighbourhood theatres continuing to offer venues similar to those of nickelodeons, a new kind of theatre began to emerge: the palace. These large theatres were more luxurious and comfortable. The architecture of palaces was partially inspired by 19th century opera houses and theatres. The façades, walls and ceilings were elaborately decorated, a sign of wealth and elegance that clearly emphasised the exhibitor’s desire to attract a middle class and more refined audience.

The Rialto
Regent interior
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Visible in this picture of the Rialto auditorium are the different sections available to spectators: floor seats, a “standing room” space in the back, and the balcony. The lavish decoration of the Regent truly recalls that of a church. The frescos and mouldings of movie palaces and places of worship were in fact often made by the same craftsmen.
photo

The Interactive version of this page requires Flash. Download Flash. Or click here for Flash version.

Parcours interactifs

Milieu rural (1897-1905)

-- Présentation
  La première projection cinématographique au Canada a lieu à Montréal le 27 juin 1896, grâce aux projectionnistes français Louis Minier et Louis Pupier. Le public canadien découvre la magi des images en mouvement grâce à leur Cinématographe Lumière. Le vicomte Henry de Grandsaigne d’Hauterives et sa mère Marie de Kerstrat, quant à eux, comptent parmi les premiers projectionnistes ambulants au Québec, particulièrement actifs de 1897 à 1906. De nationalité française, ils parcourent la province en projetant entre autres, les films des compagnies françaises Lumière, Méliès et Pathé.

Charles Pathé
Marie de Kerstrat
photo
photo
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec Source : Duigou, Serge et Germain Lacasse. Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe.Rennes: Ouest-France, 2002.
Charles Pathé et son frère Émile fondent la maison de production française Pathé en 1896.  

Les frères Lumière
L’équipe de l’historiographe
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Duigou, Serge et Germain Lacasse.Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe . Rennes:Ouest-France, 2002.
Auguste et Louis Lumière, célèbres pour l’invention du cinématographe Lumière, qui sert à la fois de caméra et de projecteur comptent parmi les rares pionniers du cinéma Marie de Kerstrat et Henry d’Hauterives, accompagnés de leur personnel, devant le cinéma qu’ils exploitent à Saint-Louis au Missouri en 1908. Henry d’Hauterives,cinquième à droite est vêtu d’une chemise blanche.Marie de Kerstrat est au guichet.

Henry d’Hauterives
photo
Source : Duigou, Serge et Germain Lacasse. Marie de Kerstrat. L’aristocrate du cinématographe.Rennes: Ouest-France, 2002.
Henry D’Hauterives, l’un des premiers projectionnistes ambulants au Québec.
photo

-- Distribution de la programmation
  Dès 1896, au Québec, les projectionnistes se déplacent de ville en ville avec leur projecteur qu’ils baptisent souvent d’un nom spécifique pour se démarquer des autres, tel Henry d’Hauterives avec son Historiographe.Les projections se tenaient dans des lieux publics, comme les salles paroissiales, les écoles et les parcs.L’événement était souvent annoncé par de jeunes gens qui distribuaient la programmation dans les rues. Les premières vues animées, que l’on n’appelle pas encore cinéma, tirent leur inspiration de spectacles comme la lanterne magique, le théâtre et la prestidigitation. On montre de petites fictions et de nombreux faitsd’actualités.

Parc Sohmer
Parc d’Ottawa
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Le Parc Sohmer de Montréal offre à un public populaire des représentations cinématographiques entre 1897 et 1915. Les frères George et Andrew Holland obtiennent en 1894 la primeur mondiale du Kinetoscope Edison,qu’ils exploitent d’abord dans une arcade new yorkaise. Le 21 juillet 1896, quelques semaines après la première représentation du Cinématographe Lumière à Montréal, ils organisent la première projection canadienne du Vitascope Edison dans un parc d’Ottawa.

Electric Theatre
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Les projections ambulantes accompagnent souvent les spectacles forains dans les premiers temps du cinéma.
photo

-- Programmation

photo
photo

photo
photo

photo
photo
photo

-- Transport
  À l’époque d’Henry d’Hauterives, un projectionniste occupe tout aussi bien le rôle de bonimenteur que de monteur. La bobine du film est considérée comme un matériau brut que le projectionniste peut couper et remonter selon son gré. Il participe aussi au processus créatif en créant un spectacle de toutes pièces : de l’achat sélectif des bobines à leur assemblage. Le projectionniste décide en effet de l’ordre dans lequel les vues doivent être projetées. Quelques années plus tard, avec la multiplication des salles de représentation, les scopes, la plupart des projectionnistes ne changent plus de lieu, et par conséquent sont constamment contraints à renouveler leur programmation. Ils doivent dès lors louer les films aux distributeurs plutôt que de les acheter, ce qui implique une moins grande possibilité d’intervention sur les vues.
photo

-- Lieu de représentation
  La pratique ambulante d’Henry d’Hauterives et de Marie de Kerstrat appartient au « cinéma forain », typique de cette période. Ils produisent des tournées dans les grandes et petites villes, tâchant de faire correspondre leur date de passage avec celle des foires agricoles et des fêtes populaires. Bien que les vues animées constituent la principale attraction du spectacle cinématographique, l’accompagnement musical et la participation d’un bonimenteur sont également primordiaux. D’ailleurs, le talent du bonimenteur tient de ses dons d’orateur et de comédien pour susciter l’intérêt du public. Chaque projection est unique car elle tient de la performance.

Parc Sohmer
Auditorium
photo
photo
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec Source : Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
Le pavillon de la musique du Parc Sohmer à Montréal accueille les projections cinématographiques dès 1902. Les représentations cinématographiques ont souvent lieu dans des salles communautaires comme celle-ci,au collège Loyola de Montréal.
photo

Milieu ouvrier (1906-1914)

-- Présentation
  Léo-Ernest Ouimet est la plus importante personnalité québécoise du cinéma muet. C’est en tant que projectionniste qu’il débute sa carrière, pour ensuite devenir exploitant de salles, réalisateur, distributeur et producteur. Le 1er janvier 1906, il devient le directeur d’une salle de cinéma qui porte son nom, le Ouimetoscope.

Caricature de Léo-Ernest Ouimet
photo
Source : GRAFICS
Léo-Ernest Ouimet est le distributeur canadien des films de la maison Pathé. Dans cette caricature de Jos Violon, parue dans le Canadian Moving Picture Digest du 1er juillet 1921,le coq emblème de cette compagnie est perché sur le trépied de Ouimet
photo

-- Transport
  À partir de 1906, les scopes, premières salles de représentation spécifiquement consacrées au cinéma, se multiplient : Montréal en compte déjà une trentaine en 1908. Le Ouimetoscope se démarque des autres scopes montréalais par la touche plus raffinée que Ouimet donne à sa salle. Son scope est précurseur et annonce l’émergence de salles plus luxueuses, les palaces, quelques années plus tard.
photo

-- Distribution de la programmation
  Les vues projetées au Canada sont pour la plupart importées des États-Unis ou de la France. Léo-Ernest Ouimet distribue pendant plusieurs années les films de la maison Pathé, une compagnie française ayant également une branche de production très active aux États-Unis. Ouimet et son opérateur Lactance Giroux filment par ailleurs des actualités régionales qui sont par la suite projetées au Ouimetoscope. Ouimets’intéresse épisodiquement à d’autres genres cinématographiques. Il tourne par exemple en 1908 une courte fiction intitulée Baptiste et son cochon.

Premier Ouimetoscope
Red Mill
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Le premier janvier 1906 Léo-Ernest Ouimet ouvre dans un ancien café-concert la première salle montréalaise consacrée aux vues animées : le Ouimetoscope. Cette salle est rasée à l’été 1907 afin de faire place à un nouveau Ouimetoscope,plus grand et plus luxueux. Le Theatorium, ouvert en mars 1906, est la première salle de vues animées de Toronto. Lorsque cette photographie est prise en 1914, la salle porte, déjà depuis quelques années, le nom de Red Mill.

The Princess
Storefront
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Le cinéma Princess à Edmonton en Alberta, vers 1915. Ce cinéma de 1914 en Ontario est typique des premières salles de cinéma installées dans des commerces. L’aspect tapageur de la réclame de la salle, dont la façade est entièrement couverte d’affiches, révèle un lieu hâtivement converti.
photo

-- La programmation
  Les scopes ont une clientèle essentiellement populaire. Toutefois, Ouimet tente d’attirer un public plus varié, provenant autant de la classe moyenne que des classes populaires. Pour ce faire, il augmente légèrement le prix des tickets et impose des horaires aux projections. Tandis que dans la plupart des scopes le spectacle dure moins d’une heure et présente une programmation reprise en boucle tout au long de la journée, le Ouimetoscope offre des représentations dont la durée peut aller jusqu’à deux heures et demie.

 
 
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise

 
 
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise

 
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
photo

-- Lieu de représentation
  Comme pour les projections ambulantes, les spectacles de vues animées ne se limitent pas seulement à la projection de films. La projection est généralement accompagnée de musique, mais aussi souvent d’un boniment. Au Québec, le boniment de films reste une pratique répandue jusqu’à l’arrivée du cinéma parlant. Pendant les changements de bobine, des numéros de variété et des chansons illustrées sont présentés. Les paroles de ces chansons sont souvent publiées par la suite dans des revues comme le Passe-temps et le Montréal qui chante. Le Ouimetoscope illustre même sa propre série de chansons illustrées vers 1910.

Tournage à Hollywood
Tournage à Hollywood
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Au cours des années 1910, le distributeur Léo-Ernest Ouimet importe au Canada nombre de films Pathé, notamment ceux d’Harold Lloyd.Cette photographie a été prise lors d’une visite de Ouimet sur le plateau de tournage d’un film de Lloyd. Harold Lloyd, célèbre acteur du cinéma burlesque américain des années 1910-1920, photographié en pleine action durant le tournage d’une de ses comédies.
photo

Milieu aisé (1915-1930)

-- Présentation
  Rae Levinsky, mieux connue sous le nom de Ray Lewis, est issue d’une famille juive migrée au Canada dans les années 1880. De 1918 à 1954, elle est rédactrice en chef du Canadian Moving Picture Digest, le premier journal destiné aux producteurs, distributeurs et exploitants de salles canadiens. Ray Lewis débute sa carrière comme artiste de théâtre et de vaudeville. Dans le milieu cinématographique, elle est également scénariste dans les années 1910, distributrice et propriétaire de salle dans les années 1930 et 1940.

Ray Lewis
Caricature de Ray Lewis
photo
photo
Source : GRAFICS Source : GRAFICS
Ce portrait de Ray Lewis, publié dans le Canadian Moving Picture Digest le 24 décembre 1927, a été peint par Joshua Smith, le peintre britannique que la rédactrice épousa en 1920. Cartoon publié en première page du Canadian Moving Picture Digest le 4 octobre 1930. La rédactrice en chef du magazine, Ray Lewis, milite alors pour une plus grande présence du cinéma britannique sur les écrans canadiens, de même quepour la tenue d’une enquête sur les pratiques monopolistiques de l’industrie américaine.
photo

-- Distribution de la programmation
  Au cours des années 1920, la chaîne de salles Famous Players Canadian exerce de plus en plus de pouvoir sur l’industrie du cinéma au Canada. Dans les éditoriaux du Digest, Lewis défend les propriétaires de salles indépendantes, en dénonçant certaines pratiques monopolistiques de Famous Players Canadian. Lewis milite également pour une plus grande présence du cinéma britannique et canadien sur les écrans nationaux.
photo

-- La programmation
  C’est dans les années 1910 que le cinéma devient un véritable média de masse, attirant autant les membres de la classe moyenne que ceux de la classe populaire. Cet élargissement du public du cinéma est facilité par les journaux quotidiens, qui se mettent à cette époque à publier régulièrement les publicités des nouveaux palaces. Une presse spécialisée à l’attention des fans apparaît également à cette époque, tel le Panorama de Montréal en 1919. D’autres titres, comme le Canadian Moving Picture Digest de Lewis, servent quant à eux les besoins des membres de l’industrie du cinéma. Toutes ces publications contribuent à intégrer le cinéma dans la culture populaire et la vie économique des Canadiens.
photo

-- Transport

Strand
Isis
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Le Strand, premier palace cinématographique de Montréal, est érigé en 1912. La façade de ce cinéma situé à Calgary est recouverte d’un nombre étonnant d’affiches. Durant les années 1920, le bon goût veut que les affiches des palaces soient étalées d’une façon un peu moins tape-à-l’oeil.

Capitol
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Ce cinéma situé en Saskatchewan est baptisé Capitol, comme nombre de salles appartenant au réseau Famous Players Canadian.
photo

-- Lieu de présentation
  Depuis les années 1910-1920, même si plusieurs salles de quartier continuent à offrir des espaces et des spectacles semblables à ceux des scopes, des salles de cinéma d’un nouveau type apparaissent : les palaces.Ces derniers offrent luxe et confort. L’architecture des palaces s’inspire en partie de celle des théâtres et des opéras du XIXe siècle. Façades, murs et plafonds sont chargés de fioritures, symboles extérieurs de richesse et d’élégance soulignant clairement le désir des exploitants d’attirer une clientèle bourgeoise et policée.

Le Rialto
Intérieur du Regent
photo
photo
Source : Cinémathèque québécoise Source : Cinémathèque québécoise
Cette photographie de l’auditorium du Rialto permet de distinguer les différentes sections offertes aux spectateurs : le parterre et, à l’arrière,le standing room d’où il est possible de regarder les films en demeurant debout, de même que le balcon,auquel on accède par un escalier. La décoration fastueuse de cette salle du Regent rappelle avec raison celle d’une église. Plusieurs des artisans ayant réalisé ces fresques et moulures sont en effet régulièrement embauchés pour créer la décoration de ces lieux saints.
photo

La version interactive de cette page exige Flash. Télécharger Flash. Version Flash.