test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Major Events in Cinema
 
The first animated views were not interested in telling stories or informing audiences, but rather sought to provoke surprised reactions through the use of moving pictures. They operated on the principle of “attractions” passed on from fairground shows and vaudeville. Attractions are moments of pure spectacle that provoke curiosity, voyeurism, fascination and even horror. The very first film producers were often content to record circus or variety show numbers such as magic tricks, acrobatics, fairy plays and so forth.
Many films of the “cinema of attractions” variety are nevertheless a kind of historical document. From the moment the Cinématographe Lumière was invented, a variety of events were recorded, ranging from the everyday to the exotic: sports, unusual trades or rituals, spectacular landscapes, feasts and celebrations and so on. The boundary between attraction and document is not clearly demarcated, however. One of the first films shot in Quebec, Danse indienne ([Indian Dance], 1898), implicitly presented itself as an actual representation of a Native American ritual. However, it was entirely staged: the Kahnawake Mohawks’ performance was obviously interested in appealing to a taste for exoticism on the part of a foreigner – the camera operator.
The great traditions of documentary and news films nevertheless emerged from these initial views. It did not take long before producers became aware of the public’s fascination for news films (or those supposedly about news – “reenactments” were quite numerous at the time). Beginning in the early 1910s, several companies began producing weekly compilations of news images. Newsreels with the rooster logo of the French Pathé Company were particularly popular for many years. Always on the lookout for opportunities, Léo-Ernest Ouimet struck a deal with Pathé and launched the series British-Canadian Pathé News in the late 1910s. These newsreels were regularly shown in cinemas until television news supplanted them in the 1960s.
A Big Visit
From cinema’s earliest days, newsreel producers showed a strong preference for ceremonial events, which were predictable and easy to shoot. Colonial rituals held in the Dominion of Canada were particularly popular with film companies. By 1901, the ceremonies surrounding the visit by the Duke of York (future King George V) were filmed by three different camera operators. The mix of military pageantry, prestigious personalities and jubilant crowds offered by these events was indeed ideal subject matter for animated views.
The various visits of the Governors General of Canada were also the subject of many films in the silent era. It is important to note, in this regard, that from 1867 to 1952 Governors General were chosen from among the British aristocracy – that is to say, none was from the territories they represented. In February 1902, a camera operator from the American Edison company filmed the arrival of Governor Lord Minto in Quebec City. Sitting in a boat with his wife, he was pulled along the St. Lawrence River by Quebec City citizens dressed in local costumes. The arrivals and departures of Lord Minto’s successors, the Earl Grey and the Duke of Connaught, were also widely covered by animated view camera operators.
Canada’s membership in the British Empire led it to enter the Boer War (1899-1902) in South Africa. The Boers were farmers of Dutch origin (known today as “Afrikaners”) living in Transvaal and the Orange Free State. They were resisting the British, who wanted to unite South Africa under their control (and perhaps also gain control of the gold and diamonds located in Boer territory). In October 1899, an Edison Company camera operator filmed the deployment of Canadian troops in Quebec City. These views were screened in particular at fund-raising evenings for financing the war effort in Canada.
Local Actualities
The first French-Canadian filmmakers distanced themselves somewhat from these military and imperial subjects. Léo-Ernest Ouimet, who began producing local actualities in 1906, was praised by a La Presse newspaper journalist for his films on Quebec City’s three-hundredth anniversary celebrations in 1908: “Mr. Ouimet is the only one who chose to photograph the historic and French-Canadian side of these festivities, not giving more importance than necessary to the Prince of Wales” (August 11, 1908: 13). Ouimet’s films, along with those of his competitors – Lactance Giroux, Arthur Larente, etc. – were indeed mostly focused on celebrations and popular events. Among the films Ouimet shot was one about a snowshoeing event in February 1907 – a half-century before the celebrated 1958 film Les raquetteurs by Gilles Groulx and Michel Brault!
Ouimet’s actualities partially revealed his political allegiances. For instance, at his Ouimetoscope he screened films showing Joseph-Israel Tarte’s funeral (Tarte was a Liberal cabinet minister and newspaper proprietor) and Wilfrid Laurier’s speeches (unfortunately silent. . .).
The first actualities in Quebec also covered an abundance of religious subjects. There seems to be little doubt that film producers sought to appease religious authorities. In April 1898, the first cardinal from Quebec, Cardinal Taschereau, passed away. The itinerant camera operator Henry de Grandsaignes d’Hauterives soon added scenes of the funeral to his Historiographe show. In 1910, Catholics from around the world came to Montreal for a major Eucharistic Congress. Two foreign companies, Butcher and Gaumont, quickly dispatched camera operators to cover the celebrations, while two local teams produced films of the conference for Nickel theatres and the Ouimetoscope.
Among the memorable Ouimet productions (most of which, tragically, are lost today), is a view in eight tableaux showing the ruins of a fire that devastated Trois-Rivieres on June 22, 1908. Fire fighters and fires were among the most popular topics in the silent era! Animated views featuring Montreal fire fighters go back as far as winter 1898! One might say that Montreal fire chief Zéphirin Benoît was the first Quebec film star…
First World War Films
Views showing the work and duties of Montreal fire fighters were regularly released until 1913. However, firemen were overshadowed (quite obviously) by Canadian soldiers who entered the war in August 1914. For many spectators, actualities showing the training, parades and deployment of Canadian soldiers represented the last chance to see a son, brother, friend or loved one leave for combat in Europe.
In the spring of 1917, soldiers were in turn overshadowed in the news by Marshal Joffre, who stopped in Montreal on May 13. The French marshal was returning from the United States, where he had negotiated the entrance of the United States into the war with President Woodrow Wilson. Throughout his visit to Montreal, which would take him from Jeanne Mance Park to Windsor Station, Joffre was followed by animated view camera operators.
Cameras were once again focused on Canadian soldiers at the end of the war. On May 19, 1919, camera operator John Dufresne of the Specialty Film Import shot the triumphant return of the 22nd regiment. A jubilant crowd at their arrival in Rimouski cheered the soldiers, cheers which were sustained throughout their journey to Quebec City and Montreal. This actuality was very successful in cinemas. For once, many Quebecers were able to recognize a familiar face on screen…
Tragedies and ‘Sensational’ News Items
A number of and tragedies were also the subject of actualities in the silent era. At the end of the summer of 1913, many camera operators rushed to Sherbrooke, where the famous American fugitive K. Thaw was being temporarily detained after being caught on Canadian territory. The next winter, a local company filmed the funeral of Constable Honoré Bourdon, who was killed following a horse-carriage pursuit of the robbers of a butcher shop. This brutal murder, committed for just a few pieces of meat, deeply shocked many Montrealers.
The greatest maritime tragedy in Canadian history occurred a few months later in 1914. During the night of May 29, the transatlantic liner Empress of Ireland sank in just 14 minutes off the coast of Rimouski, Quebec after being rammed by the Norwegian coaler Storstad: 1,012 of 1,477 passengers and crew perished at sea. Hoping to film sensational images of the wreckage, all actuality producers in North America and Europe dispatched camera operators to Eastern Quebec. However, they found only coffins and funeral ceremonies.
The St. Lawrence River was the scene of another tragedy in 1916. The central span of the Quebec Bridge (which is still the largest “cantilever” bridge in the world) collapsed during construction work in September, causing 13 deaths. Ouimet filmed this tragic event and later claimed to have filmed the first collapse of the bridge in 1907 (there is not mention of this event in the press of the day, however).
The Quebec Bridge was finally officially inaugurated in 1919, during the Canadian tour of the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VIII). The visit coincided with the start of the Winnipeg General Strike, which greatly which greatly affected labor relations in Canada Canadian workers. Some thought the Prince’s visit had a unifying purpose, while others believed the visit was simply intended to honour Canadian combatants in the Great War. The visit of the Prince of Wales became once again the subject of numerous films, as this particular genre was as popular then as it had been in 1901 or 1908. Ouimet, who headed one of the largest film distribution companies in Canada, Specialty Film Import, was less reluctant this time, as opposed to 1908, to cover the visit of the Prince of Wales. His film, however, had to compete with many other actualities produced by rival producers during the visit, foremost among them those by Toronto’s Pathéscope Company. In December 1919, the King and Queen of England agreed to attend a screening of the Cinematograph Record of the Tour of Canada of the Prince of Wales, shown in a program especially for the occasion by the Canadian Pacific Railroad at Albert Hall in London.
Other visitors followed, but did not resemble royalty. After welcoming the Prince of Wales in 1919, Montreal received Samuel Gompers in 1920, president and founder of the American Federation of Labor, whose annual convention was held from June 7 to 21 at Théâtre St. Denis. The approximately 600 union delegates meeting in Montreal on this occasion represented more than four million workers. Actuality films included a parade of delegates and the meeting of Gompers and the mayor of Montreal, Médéric Martin.
Montreal’s mayor was once again in front of the camera in 1922, following a fire that destroyed City Hall on the night of March 3. Only the façade of the building, built in 1879, was spared. It was not rebuilt until 1926. The previous summer Fox News actualities had also shown the ravages of a fire that overwhelmed the town of Aylmer on August 10, 1921. About one hundred buildings were destroyed in the heart of a city desperately trying to recover economically. It also showed the camps where many of the 750 people who were left homeless stayed temporarily.

test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Les grands événements cinématographiés
 
Les premières vues animées ne cherchent pas à raconter une histoire ou à informer les spectateurs, mais à susciter un regard étonné – à créer un choc par l’image animée. Elles fonctionnent selon un principe hérité des arts forains et du vaudeville, celui de « l’attraction. » Les attractions sont des moments de spectacle pur provoquant la curiosité, le voyeurisme, la fascination, voire l’horreur. Les producteurs des premiers films se contentent en effet souvent de capter des numéros de cirque ou de variétés : tours de magie, acrobaties, féeries, etc.
Plusieurs vues relevant de la « cinématographie-attraction » n’en constituent pas moins des sortes de documents. On tourne ainsi dès l’invention du Cinématographe Lumière des choses rares ou des événements exotiques et singuliers : sports, métiers ou rites insolites, paysages spectaculaires, fêtes et célébrations, etc. La frontière entre attraction et document demeure toutefois souvent floue. Un des premiers films tournés au Québec, Danse indienne (1898), se présente implicitement comme un document témoignant d’un rituel amérindien. Ce que l’on y voit relève cependant de la pure mise en scène : les Mohawks de Kahnawake exécutent de toute évidence un numéro simplement destiné à satisfaire le regard d’un étranger en quête d’exotisme – celui de l’opérateur. Leur danse est ainsi littéralement « arrangée avec le gars des vues »…
De ces premières vues naîtront néanmoins les grandes traditions du film documentaire et des actualités filmées. Les producteurs ne tardent en effet pas à remarquer que le public raffole des vues montrant (ou prétendant montrer – les « reconstitutions » étant plutôt nombreuses…) les événements ayant marqué l’actualité. Plusieurs compagnies se lancent ainsi dès le début des années 1910 dans la production de compilations hebdomadaires d’images d’actualités. Les journaux d’actualités filmées marqués du coq de la compagnie française Pathé seront longtemps particulièrement réputés. Toujours à l’affût, Léo-Ernest Ouimet profite de son association avec la compagnie Pathé pour lancer à la fin des années 1910 la série British-Canadian Pathé News. Ces journaux d’actualités filmées seront régulièrement présentés dans les salles de cinéma jusqu’à ce que les actualités télévisées viennent les détrôner dans les années 1960.
De la grande visite
Dès les débuts du cinéma, les producteurs d’actualités filmées ont une préférence marquée pour les événements protocolaires, qui sont prévisibles et relativement faciles à tourner. Les rituels coloniaux tenus dans le Dominion of Canada seront ainsi particulièrement populaires auprès des compagnies de cinéma. Déjà en 1901, les cérémonies entourant la visite du duc de York (futur roi George V) sont tournées par trois opérateurs différents. La combinaison d’apparat militaire, de personnalités prestigieuses et de foule en liesse caractéristique de ces événements constitue en effet un sujet tout trouvé pour les vues animées.
Les diverses visites des gouverneurs généraux du Canada font également l’objet de nombreux films à l’époque du muet. Il faut à cet égard savoir que, de 1867 à 1952, les gouverneurs généraux sont choisis parmi l’aristocratie britannique – c’est-à-dire qu’aucun d’entre eux n’est originaire du territoire qu’il représente pourtant. En février 1902, un opérateur de la firme américaine Edison tourne l’arrivée du gouverneur lord Minto à Québec. Assis dans un canot en compagnie de son épouse, celui-ci se fait tirer sur le fleuve St-Laurent par des citoyens de Québec en costumes d’habitants. Les allers et venues des successeurs de lord Minto, le comte Grey et le duc de Connaught, seront également largement couverts par les opérateurs de vues animées.
L’appartenance du Canada à l’empire britannique entraîne par ailleurs le Dominion dans la Guerre des Boers (1899-1902), en Afrique du Sud. Les Boers sont des paysans d’origine néerlandaise (aujourd’hui appelés « Afrikaners ») vivant dans les États d’Orange et du Transvaal. Ils résistent aux Anglais, qui désirent unir l’Afrique du Sud sous leur contrôle (et peut-être aussi s’emparer des mines d’or et de diamants se trouvant en territoire boer). L’embarquement des troupes canadiennes à Québec en octobre 1899 est tourné par un opérateur américain pour la compagnie Edison. Ces vues seront notamment montrées dans le cadre de soirées visant à financer l’effort de guerre canadien.
Des actualités locales
Les premiers cinématographistes canadiens-français se démarqueront quelque peu de ces sujets militaires et impériaux. Léo-Ernest Ouimet, qui s’était lancé dans la production d’actualités locales en 1906, se voit ainsi félicité par un journaliste du journal La Presse pour ses vues du Tricentenaire de Québec en 1908 : « M. Ouimet est le seul qui ait voulu photographier le côté historique et bien canadien-français à ces fêtes, ne donnant pas plus d’importance qu’il ne fallait au prince de Galles. » (11 août 1908, p. 13) Les tournages de Ouimet et de ses émules – Lactance Giroux, Arthur Larente, etc. – se concentrent en effet le plus souvent sur les fêtes et les événements populaires. Ouimet tourne entre autres une rencontre de raquetteurs en février 1907 – un demi-siècle avant Les raquetteurs de Gilles Groulx et Michel Brault (1958) !
Certaines actualités de Ouimet n’en révèlent pas moins les allégeances politiques de leur producteur… On montrera par exemple au Ouimetoscope des vues montrant les funérailles de Joseph-Israël Tarte (qui avait notamment été ministre libéral et propriétaire de journaux) et des discours (malheureusement muets…) de Wilfrid Laurier.
Les premières actualités filmées québécoises couvrent également une abondance de sujets religieux. De toute évidence, les producteurs de vues cherchent à amadouer les autorités religieuses… En avril 1898, le premier cardinal d’origine québécoise, le cardinal Taschereau, meurt. L’exploitant ambulant Henry de Grandsaignes d’Hauterives ne tarde alors pas à ajouter des scènes des funérailles au spectacle de son Historiographe. En 1910, des catholiques du monde entier convergent vers Montréal, où un important congrès eucharistique est organisé. Deux compagnies étrangères, Butcher et Gaumont, dépêchent alors des opérateurs pour couvrir les célébrations, tandis que deux équipes locales produisent des vues du congrès pour les théâtres Nickel et Ouimetoscope.
Parmi les sujets marquants produits par Ouimet (et, tragiquement, aujourd’hui perdus), on trouve également une vue en huit tableaux montrant les ruines de l’incendie ayant dévasté Trois-Rivières le 22 juin 1908. Pompiers et incendies constituent des sujets des plus populaires à l’époque du muet ! Le tournage des premières vues mettant en vedette les pompiers de Montréal remonte en effet à l’hiver 1898 ! On pourrait même dire que le chef des pompiers de Montréal, Zéphirin Benoît, constitue la première star du cinéma québécois…
Les vues de la Grande guerre
Les vues montrant les exercices et le travail des pompiers de Montréal se succèdent l’une après l’autre jusqu’en 1913. Les pompiers se font cependant damer le pion (c’est le cas de le dire) par les soldats lors de l’entrée en guerre du Canada en août 1914. Pour plusieurs spectateurs et spectatrices, les nombreuses actualités montrant l’entraînement, les parades et l’embarquement des soldats canadiens constituent en effet une dernière occasion de voir un fils, un frère, un ami ou un amoureux parti combattre en Europe.
Au printemps 1917, les fantassins sont cependant à leur tour éclipsés dans les actualités par le maréchal Joffre, qui s’arrête à Montréal le 13 mai. Le maréchal de France revient des États-Unis, où il vient de négocier l’entrée en guerre des États-Unis avec le président Woodrow Wilson. Tout au long de sa tournée montréalaise, qui le mènera du parc Jeanne Mance à la gare Windsor, Joffre sera suivi par les opérateurs de vues animées.
Les projecteurs se braquent à nouveau sur le contingent canadien à la fin de la guerre. Le 19 mai 1919, l’opérateur John Dufresne de la Specialty Film Import tourne ainsi le retour triomphal du 22e régiment. Les soldats sont acclamés par une foule en liesse lors de leur débarquement à Rimouski, puis tout au long du périple qui les mènera à Québec et à Montréal. Cette actualité connaîtra un grand succès dans les cinémas. De nombreux Québécois et Québecoises peuvent pour une fois reconnaître un visage familier sur l’écran…
Tragédies et faits divers
De nombreux faits divers et tragédies font par ailleurs l’objet de vues d’actualités à l’époque du muet. À la fin de l’été 1913, de nombreux opérateurs se ruent ainsi vers Sherbrooke, où le célèbre fugitif américain Harry K. Thaw est momentanément détenu après avoir été capturé en territoire canadien. L’hiver suivant, une compagnie locale tourne les funérailles du constable Honoré Bourdon, abattu au terme d’une poursuite de carrioles à cheval par des malfaiteurs venant de dévaliser une boucherie. Ce meurtre brutal commis pour quelques morceaux de viande avait profondément choqué les Montréalais.
La plus grande tragédie maritime de l’histoire canadienne survient quelques mois plus tard en 1914. Au cours de la nuit du 29 mai, le paquebot transatlantique Empress of Ireland coule en 14 minutes au large de Rimouski (Québec) après avoir été éperonné par le charbonnier norvégien Storstad : 1012 des 1477 passagers et membres d’équipage périssent en mer. Espérant obtenir des images sensationnelles de l’épave, tous les producteurs d’actualités filmées d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe dépêchent des opérateurs dans l’Est du Québec. On ne trouvera finalement que des cercueils et des cérémonies funèbres à montrer.
Le fleuve St-Laurent est le théâtre d’une autre tragédie en 1916. La travée centrale du pont de Québec (qui constitue encore aujourd’hui le plus grand pont en « cantilever » du monde) s’effondre en septembre, entraînant 13 personnes vers la mort. Le tragique événement est tourné par Ouimet, qui prétendra plus tard avoir également tourné le premier effondrement du pont en 1907 (la presse de l’époque ne contient cependant aucune mention de cette actualité).
Le pont de Québec est finalement inauguré en 1919, dans le cadre de la tournée canadienne du prince de Galles (futur roi Édouard VIII). Cette visite coïncide avec le déclenchement de la grève générale de Winnipeg, qui ébranle la masse des travailleurs canadiens. Certains sont par conséquent d’avis que la visite du prince a un but unificateur, tandis que d’autres croient que la visite a simplement pour intention d’honorer les combattants canadiens de la « der des ders ». La visite du prince de Galles sera une fois de plus le sujet de nombreux films, ce genre de sujets étant toujours aussi populaire qu’en 1901 ou en 1908. Ouimet, qui dirige maintenant une des principales entreprises canadiennes de distribution de films, Specialty Film Import, rechigne moins qu’en 1908 à couvrir la visite du Prince de Galles… Le film qu’il produit à cette occasion devra cependant lutter avec les nombreuses autres actualités produites au cours la visite par des producteurs rivaux, au premier rang desquels se trouve la firme Pathéscope de Toronto. Le roi et la reine d’Angleterre accepteront en décembre 1919 d’assister à une projection du Cinematograph Record of the Tour of Canada of the Prince of Wales, dans le cadre d’un programme spécialement présenté par le Canadian Pacific Railroad au Albert Hall de Londres.
Les visiteurs se suivent mais ne se ressemblent pas… Après avoir accueilli le prince de Galles en 1919, Montréal est l’hôte en 1920 de Samuel Gompers, président fondateur de l’American Federation of Labor, dont la convention annuelle se tient du 7 au 21 juin au théâtre St-Denis. Les quelque 600 délégués syndicaux réunis à Montréal à cette occasion représentent plus de quatre millions d’ouvriers. Les actualités filmées montreront notamment la parade des délégués et la rencontre de Gompers et du maire de Montréal, Médéric Martin.
Ce dernier se retrouve à nouveau devant la caméra en 1922, à la suite de l’incendie qui détruit l’Hôtel de ville de Montréal dans la nuit du 3 au 4 mars de cette année. Seule la façade de l’édifice construit en 1879 est épargnée. L’Hôtel de ville ne sera reconstruit qu’en 1926. L’été précédent, les actualités Fox News avaient également montré les ravages de l’incendie ayant affligé la ville d’Aylmer le 10 août 1921. Une centaine de constructions avaient alors été détruites au cœur cette ville en plein effort de relance économique. On montre également le camp où plusieurs des 750 personnes se retrouvant sans domicile sont temporairement installées.