test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Canadian Pacific Railway
 
During the time of their publicity campaigns promoting immigration and settlement in Western Canada, the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) quickly became aware of cinema’s potential and of the public’s fascination with trains. Using their Department of Colonization and Development (where Louis Olivier Armstrong was employed) as intermediary, CPR soon began sponsoring the practice of filmmaking.
The first filmmaker to benefit from CPR’s support was James Freer. In 1899, Freer made several films in the vicinity of his Manitoba farm, eventually exhibiting the films himself as an itinerant projectionist . CPR solicited work from British and American companies and camera operators as well. This accounts for the presence of American Mutoscope and Biograph camera operator Billy Bitzer and Edison Manufacturing Co. ’s Robert K. Bonine in Canada at the time. However, it was the Englishman Joseph Rosenthal and his producer Charles Urban who, beginning in 1902, most benefited from the Canadian Pacific Railway’s support.
CPR collaborated with Edison again in 1910 on a series of twelve fiction films, from which emerged most notably A Wedding Trip from Montreal Through Canada to Hong Kong, a fictional story in a documentary setting. These latter productions were ideally suited for screening in the first permanent movie theatres. The following year CPR continued its innovative course by commissioning Natural Colour Kinematograph of London to produce a series of Canadian views using Kinemacolor, a moderately successful colour process.
In 1919, Urban approached CPR to produce a documentary on the Prince of Wales’ visit to Canada . The film’s success encouraged CPR to become more involved in production. With this interest in mind, Associated Screen News was founded in Montreal in 1921, where it was active until 1958, under the management of Bernard E. Norrish, offering production and laboratory services. In addition to commissioned films, they produced a series of documentaries and actuality films for theatrical release (Kinogram Travelogues, Camera Rambles), out of which came the celebrated Canadian Cameo series (from 1932 to 1953).

test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Canadian Pacific Railway
 
Lors de ses campagnes publicitaires en vue d’encourager l’ immigration et l’établissement dans l’Ouest canadien, la compagnie de chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CP) réalise vite le potentiel des vues animées et la fascination du public pour les trains. Par l’intermédiaire de son Service de la Colonisation et du Développement – et plus particulièrement de son employé Louis Olivier Armstrong – la compagnie va donc encourager des individus dans cette entreprise.
Le premier cinéaste à bénéficier de l’appui du CP est James Freer qui tourne en 1899 plusieurs films aux environs de sa ferme du Manitoba et qui en assure lui-même la diffusion en tant que projectionniste ambulant. Le CP fait également appel à des compagnies et caméramans américains et britanniques. Ce qui explique la présence au Canada de l’opérateur de l’American Mutoscope and Biograph, Billy Bitzer, ou de l’ Edison Manufacturing Co., Robert K. Bonine. Mais ce sont surtout l’Anglais Joseph Rosenthal et son producteur Charles Urban qui vont bénéficier de son appui à partir de 1902.
En 1910, le CP collabore à nouveau avec la Edison pour une série de douze films de fiction parmi lesquels se démarque A Wedding Trip from Montreal Through Canada to Hong Kong, un récit mis en scène dans un contexte documentaire. Ces productions sont alors surtout destinées à être mises au programme des premières salles de cinéma permanentes. Le CP innove l’année suivante en commandant à la Natural Colour Kinematograph de Londres une série de vues canadiennes utilisant le Kinemacolor, un procédé couleur connaissant alors un certain succès.
En 1919, Urban approche le CP pour produire un documentaire sur la visite du prince de Galles au Canada. Le succès du film encourage le CP à s’impliquer davantage dans la production. C’est dans ce contexte que sera fondée à Montréal en 1921, sous la direction de Bernard E. Norrish, l’Associated Screen News (active jusqu’en 1958) qui offrira des services de production et de laboratoires. Outre des films commandités, elle produit des séries d’actualités et de documentaires pour salles (Kinogram Travelogues, Camera Rambles) auxquelles fera suite la célèbre série Canadian Cameo (de 1932 à 1953).