test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Popple, Simon, Vanessa Toulmin, Patrick Russell (dir.). 2005. The Lost World of Mitchell and Kenyon: Edwardian Britain on Film. Londres: British Film Institute.
Local Films
 
Local films were especially popular during the Silent Era and were in some ways precursors to home movies. A film is called “local” when the men, women and children appearing on screen are from the same community as the spectators.
Travelling projectionists were the most prolific producers of local films. In fact many of them had their own cameras, enabling them to produce short views in the communities where they presented shows. It was a sound business practice since people were more willing to spend five or ten cents in admission knowing they would have the chance to see themselves briefly on screen. However, local films were not very popular outside of the communities where they were shot; as a result these films were rarely distributed.
Shoots for local films typically centred on places and events where the most people could be captured, since their producers could only afford short strips of film (just a few minutes in length). Cameras were consequently placed on vehicles (a tramway in the case of St. Catherine Street Panorama, a view shot for Proctor’s theatre in 1901) or in front of an active group of people (such as in Montreal on Skates). A number of local films were also shot as people left school or church or marched in parades.
Many local films were shot in Quebec by figures such as William Paley, F. Guy Bradford and Léo-Ernest Ouimet.

test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Popple, Simon, Vanessa Toulmin, Patrick Russell (dir.). 2005. The Lost World of Mitchell and Kenyon: Edwardian Britain on Film. Londres : British Film Institute.
Les films locaux
 
Particulièrement populaires au temps du muet, les films locaux constituent en quelque sorte les précurseurs des films de famille. Un film est dit « local » lorsque le groupe des hommes, femmes et enfants défilant devant la caméra lors de son tournage et le groupe des spectateurs assis devant l’écran lors de ses projections se recoupent de façon significative.
Les projectionnistes ambulants sont les plus grands producteurs de film locaux. Plusieurs d’entre eux sont en effet équipés de caméras leur permettant de produire de courtes vues dans les communautés où ils s’arrêtent. Il s’agit là d’une stratégie commerciale fort efficace : bien des gens sont prêts à débourser les cinq ou dix sous du prix d’admission pour avoir le plaisir de s’admirer sur l’écran pendant quelques secondes. Ces films ne présentent cependant que peu d’intérêt hors des localités où ils ont été tournés, et ne sont que très rarement distribués.
Pour le tournage des films locaux, on privilégie les lieux et événements permettant de capter le plus grand nombre de visages possible sur les quelques minutes de pellicule disponibles. La caméra est par conséquent souvent installée sur un véhicule (un tramway dans le cas du Panorama de la rue Ste-Catherine tourné pour le théâtre Proctor’s en 1901), ou encore devant une foule en mouvement (c’est notamment le cas de Montreal on Skates). Plusieurs films locaux sont ainsi tournés à la sortie d’une église ou d’une école, ou bien le long d’une parade.
De nombreux films locaux ont été tournés au Québec par William Paley, F. Guy Bradford et Léo-Ernest Ouimet.