test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Beauvais, Johnny. 1985. Kahnawake: le Canada vu par les Mohawks et les aventures de Big John Canadian. Kahnawake: Khanata Industries.
McNally, Michael D. 2006. “The Indian Passion Play: Contesting the Real Indian in Song of Hiawatha Pageants, 1901 – 1965”. American Quarterly, Vol. 58, no. 1 (March), p. 105-136.
Indigenous Peoples in Film
 
An Artificial Exoticism
From the very beginning, “exotic” images have contributed to the allure of cinema. Depictions of indigenous peoples during the Silent Era were a part of this trend. Rather than using the film’s formidable ability to document the traditions and ways of life of various aboriginal communities in Canada, the first animated views usually limited themselves to simply reproduce clichés and stereotypes sensationalized by the media and popular forms of entertainment.
Western-themed “wild west” shows appearing across North America and Europe in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, many of which employed Native American actors and performers, were frequently the subjects of animated views. One of the very first views ever made, for Edison’s Kinetoscope in 1894, featured performers from Buffalo Bill’s Wild West. In 1913, members of Dickey’s Wild West Show, hired for the summer by Montreal’s Dominion Park, shot a Western in Quebec; however, even with their experience in cinema (including a collaboration with the American producer Selig and the employment of future screen star Tom Mix), the venture failed. The film was never screened in a theatre.
Another kind of outdoor show popular at the time, pageants, were also the subject of many views. In fact, Canada’s first fiction view, shot by Joseph Rosenthal, was a recording of pageants inspired by the epic poem Hiawatha, penned by the American Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (published in 1855). Hiawatha’s story ends with an encounter between romanticized Native Americans (engendering the myth of the “noble savage”) and the first white missionaries. Written and directed by an employee of the Canadian Pacific Railway, Louis Olivier Armstrong, the Hiawatha pageants were presented every summer between 1901 and 1918 by the Ojibwa of the Desbarats reserve in Ontario.
The Ojibwa of Desbarats were not the only Native Americans to participate in shows at the turn of the 20th century. A number of actors and performers came from other Native American communities – and earned their living “playing the role of Indians”. Located near Montreal, Mohawks from the Kahnawake Reserve regularly appeared in pageants and “wild west shows”. The most well-known of these actors (including Joe ‘Whiteagle’ Monique and his wife Moneola, Chief Joe Beauvais and old ‘Scar Face’) regularly performed outside of Canada as well. Even though the precise details surrounding the production of Lumière’s Indian Dance (shot by the cinematographe of Gabriel Veyre) are not known, it seems likely that the Mohawks appearing in the film were part of this group of actors. The costumes they wore were obviously stage costumes and not typical clothing.
For many years, Kahnawake Mohawks also collaborated on various pageants with Louis Olivier Armstrong. They participated most notably in the impressive pageants surrounding Quebec City’s three hundredth anniversary celebrations in 1908. In 1911, they presented several tableaux from the Hiawatha pageants on the grounds of the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association for the occasion of King George V’s coronation. The tableaux were shot in Kinemacolor by London’s Natural Colour Kinematograph, again by invitation of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and shown for several months at the Princess theatre in Montreal. These images were also included in the film Canada: Nova Scotia to British Columbia, in which descriptions of the images were presented in a misleading manner to make them more attractive to audiences eager for exoticism; in fact, the Kinematograph catalogue lists them as having been shot on a real Indian reservation and depicting “ritual ceremonies of the Iroquois Indians.” Mohawks made several other screen appearances over the following years. In 1912 and 1913, they worked in productions from Montreal’s British American Film Manufacturing and appeared in Wolfe or the Conquest of Quebec, a major five-reel production shot in the Quebec City region by the American company Kalem.
However, by 1910 Canadian landscapes were being used less and less frequently by the film industry. Films were being shot with more regularity in American studios, which were gradually relocating far from the Canadian border, to a place that would be known as “Tinseltown” – Hollywood, California. White actors dressed in “Indian” make-up became the norm in increasingly popular Westerns and “Northwest dramas” (essentially, Westerns with Royal Canadian Mounted Police officers instead of cowboys) which Hollywood came to mass produce.
Ethnographic Fictions
Some films boasted having an ethnographic dimension. This was particularly the case with In the Land of the Head Hunters, shot in 1914 by renowned photographer Edward S. Curtis in collaboration with members of the Kwakwaka’wakw tribes in British Columbia. Of special note is the fact that Curtis provided the Kwakwaka’wakw (who played all the roles in the film) an opportunity to perform several traditional dances and rituals forbidden at the time by the Canadian government. Nevertheless, the film relied heavily on a rather conventional melodramatic storyline. In addition, Curtis avoided setting the story in a specific place and time;it unfolds in a generic community in the West, in a distant past before the colonisation of the Americas by Europeans. Accordingly, despite some excellent qualities, In the Land of the Head Hunters is not considered a faithful representation of Kwakwaka’wakw culture.
Even so, Curtis’ photography and cinematography went on to influence a prospector by the name of Robert J. Flaherty. In 1913, Flaherty began taking motion picture cameras on his expeditions to the Canadian arctic. Flaherty received financial assistance from Sir William Mackenzie, the main developer for Canadian Northern Railway, and by the Revillon Frères in New York, Hudson Bay Company’s main competitor in the fur trade.
In 1920 and 1921, Flaherty shot a six-reel feature-length film, Nanook of the North, depicting the life of an Inuit family on the shores of Hudson Bay in northern Quebec. For the first time, film goers saw a walrus hunt, the building of an igloo and other facets of Arctic life. The film was very successful upon its release in 1922. (For unknown reasons, Nanook was not screened in Quebec before 1924.) Nanook introduced the Inuit peoples to the rest of the world and marked an important moment in documentary history. However, many reproached Flaherty for manipulating events and misrepresenting Inuit culture through the staging of several important sequences. For instance, Nanook was in fact an Inuk by the name of Allariallak. Unfortunately, Allariallak did not benefit from the success of Nanook of the North. He died of hunger in a hunting expedition soon after its release.

test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Beauvais, Johnny. 1985. Kahnawake : le Canada vu par les Mohawks et les aventures de Big John Canadian. Kahnawake : Khanata Industries.
McNally, Michael D. 2006. “The Indian Passion Play : Contesting the Real Indian in Song of Hiawatha Pageants, 1901 – 1965”. American Quarterly, vol. 58, no 1 (March), p. 105-136.
Les peuples autochtones au cinéma
 
Un exotisme factice
La fascination exercée par le cinéma a de tout temps largement reposé sur l’exploitation d’un exotisme souvent factice. Les nombreuses représentations des peuples autochtones au temps du cinéma muet n’échappent pas à cette tendance. Plutôt que de mettre à contribution les merveilleuses possibilités ouvertes par le cinéma pour documenter les traditions et les conditions de vie des diverses communautés autochtones du Canada, les premières vues animées se contentent le plus souvent de reproduire les clichés et stéréotypes exploités par les médias et formes de spectacles établis.
Les vues animées recyclent fréquemment les attractions des cirques à thématique western qui sillonnent l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe à la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle – les « wild west shows » employant de nombreux acteurs et figurants amérindiens. Quelques-unes des toutes premières vues tournées pour le Kinetoscope Edison en 1894 mettent par exemple en scène les artistes du Buffalo Bill’s Wild West. En 1913, la troupe du Dickey’s Wild West Show engagée pour l’été par le parc Dominion de Montréal entreprend le tournage d’un film western au Québec. Malgré l’expérience de la compagnie en matière de cinéma (elle a déjà collaboré avec le producteur américain Selig et employé la future star de l’écran Tom Mix), l’aventure se solde par un échec. Le film ne sera jamais montré dans les salles de cinéma.
Plusieurs autres vues tournées au début du XXe siècle reproduisent quant à elles des tableaux des grandes mises en scène extérieures populaires à la même époque, les « pageants ». Le premier film de fiction tourné au Canada est ainsi une captation, tournée en 1903 par Joseph Rosenthal, des pageants adaptés du poème épique Hiawatha publié par l’Américain Henry Wadsworth Longfellow en 1855. Le récit d’Hiawatha se termine par la rencontre entre un peuple amérindien idéalisé (c’est là le début du mythe du « noble sauvage ») et les premiers missionnaires blancs. Écrits et mis en scène par un employé du Canadian Pacific Railway, Louis Olivier Armstrong, ces pageants sont présentés tous les étés entre 1901 et 1918 par les Ojibwés de la réserve de Desbarats, en Ontario.
Les Ojibwés de Desbarats ne sont pas les seuls Amérindiens à participer à l’industrie du spectacle au début du XXe siècle. Plusieurs autres communautés amérindiennes comptent de nombreux comédiens et figurants professionnels – des « Indiens » qui gagnent leur vie en « jouant aux Indiens ». Les Mohawks de la réserve Kahnawake située à proximité de Montréal sont de cette façon régulièrement employés par les producteurs de pageants et de « wild west shows ». Les plus connus (parmi lesquels se trouvent Joe ‘Whiteagle’ Monique et sa femme Moneola, ‘Scar Face’ et le chef Joe Beauvais) se produisent régulièrement hors du Canada. Même si l’on ne connaît pas les circonstances du tournage de la vue Lumière Danse indienne en septembre 1898, il semble vraisemblable que les Mohawks posant pour le cinématographe de Gabriel Veyre fassent partie de ces comédiens professionnels. De toute évidence, les costumes qu’ils portent pour le tournage sont des costumes des scène plutôt que des habits traditionnels.
Les Mohawks de Kahnawake collaborent également pendant de nombreuses années aux divers pageants produits par Louis Olivier Armstrong. Armstrong et les Mohawks participent notamment aux impressionnants pageants organisés pour le tricentenaire de la ville de Québec en 1908. En 1911, ils présentent des tableaux tirés de Hiawatha sur le terrain de la Montreal Amateur Athletic Association à l’occasion du couronnement du roi George V. Ces tableaux sont filmés en Kinemacolor par la Natural Colour Kinematograph de Londres, toujours à l’invitation du Canadian Pacific Railway, puis présentés pendant quelques mois au théâtre Princess de Montréal. Ces images seront ensuite intégrées dans un film intitulé Canada : Nova Scotia to British Columbia, dont le producteur n’hésite pas à « améliorer » la description de ces images pour les rendre plus attrayantes à un public avide d’exotisme : le catalogue Kinematograph prétend en effet qu’elles ont été tournées sur une vraie réserve indienne et montrent « les rites cérémoniaux des Indiens iroquois ». Les Mohawks feront plusieurs autres apparitions à l’écran au cours des années suivantes. Ils participent en 1912-1913 au tournage des films de la British American Film Manufacturing de Montréal, puis à celui de Wolfe or the Conquest of Quebec, la grande production en cinq bobines que la compagnie américaine Kalem vient tourner dans la région de Québec.
L’industrie du cinéma exploite toutefois de moins en moins les paysages canadiens à partir des années 1910. Les tournages se déroulent de plus en plus fréquemment dans les studios des producteurs américains, qui sont alors nombreux à se relocaliser loin de la frontière canadienne dans une petite ville nommée Hollywood. L’emploi d’acteurs blancs grimés en Indiens devient la norme dans les très populaires westerns et « drames du Nord-Ouest » (des westerns dans lesquels les agents de la gendarmerie royale du Canada remplacent les cow-boys) que ces studios tournent à la chaîne.
Des fictions ethnographiques
Quelques films se targuent cependant de posséder une dimension ethnographique. C’est notamment le cas de In the Land of the Head Hunters, tourné en 1914 par le célèbre photographe Edward S. Curtis en collaboration avec des membres des communautés Kwakwaka’wakw de la Colombie-Britannique. Le film de Curtis donne notamment l’occasion aux Kwakwaka’wakw, qui y interprètent tous les rôles, de représenter plusieurs danses et rituels traditionnels interdits à cette époque par le gouvernement canadien. Le film repose néanmoins largement sur une intrigue mélodramatique assez conventionnelle. Curtis évite de plus de situer précisément son récit : celui-ci se déroule dans une communauté générique de la côte Ouest et dans un lointain passé précédant la colonisation des Amériques par les Européens. In the Land of the Head Hunters ne saurait donc, en dépit de ses grandes qualités, être considéré comme une représentation fidèle de la culture Kwakwaka’wakw.
L’œuvre photographique et cinématographique de Curtis influence par ailleurs un prospecteur du nom de Robert J. Flaherty. Depuis 1913, ce dernier se munit de cinés-caméras lors de ses expéditions dans l’Arctique canadien. Flaherty bénéficie du support financier de Sir William Mackenzie, le principal promoteur du Canadian Northern Railway, puis de la firme Révillon frères de New York, alors le principal compétiteur de la compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson dans le domaine du commerce de la fourrure.
Entre 1920 et 1921, Flaherty tourne dans le Nord du Québec, sur les rives de la Baie d’Hudson, un long-métrage de six bobines montrant la vie d’une famille inuit, Nanook of the North. Les spectateurs peuvent pour la première fois assister à une chasse au morse, à la construction d’un igloo, et découvrir plusieurs autres facettes de la vie arctique. Le film de Flaherty connaît un très grand succès lors de sa sortie en 1922. (Pour une raison mystérieuse, Nanook ne sera toutefois pas montré au Québec avant 1924.) Nanook fait connaître le peuple inuit au reste du monde et marque l’histoire du cinéma documentaire. Plusieurs reprocheront cependant à Flaherty d’avoir manipulé les faits et déformé la culture inuit en mettant en scène plusieurs séquences parmi les plus importantes du film. Nanook, par exemple, est en fait un Inuk du nom de Allariallak. Ce dernier ne pourra d’ailleurs pas profiter du succès du film : Allariallak meurt de faim lors d’une expédition de chasse peu de temps après la sortie de Nanook.