test
<< Document larger view >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
More info
Bonville, Jean de. 1988. La presse québécoise de 1884 à 1914 : genèse d’un média de masse. Québec: Les Presses de l’Université Laval.
Gaudreault, André, Jean-Pierre Sirois-Trahan. 2002. La vie ou du moins ses apparences: émergence du cinéma dans la presse de la Belle Époque (1894-1910). Montréal: GRAFICS/Cinémathèque québécoise.
Cinema in the Press
 
A Sensational Invention
A true mass medium first emerged in the late nineteenth century when daily newspapers began circulating on a wide scale. In Montreal, La Patrie and La Presse were inaugurated in 1879 and 1884 respectively, while Quebec City’s Le Soleil began publication in 1880. On the English side, the circulation of the Montreal Daily Star – the largest Canadian newspaper at the beginning of the twentieth century – and the Quebec Chronicle climbed rapidly during the same period.
The press played a fundamental role in the history of cinema. The public first learned about the fantastic devices of “The Wizard of Menlo Park” – Thomas Edison – the Lumière brothers and other inventors of animated view through the reviews of astounded journalists. In covering the invention of cinema, newspapers hoped to attract many readers. The public’s appetite for news on science and technology increased during the latter half of the nineteenth century with the advance of electricity, and the inventions of such varied things as the phonograph, the automobile and X-rays.
The premieres of Edison’s Kinetoscope in 1894 and Lumière’s Cinématographe in 1896 prompted an outpouring of praise in the Montreal press. However, considering that the Kinetoscope premiere took place at the offices of the Montreal Daily Star and that journalists were among the privileged few to attend the premiere of the Cinématographe, this fact should not be surprising. Moreover, animated view shows were very good clients of newspapers, because they depended largely on advertisements to attract their clientele.
A Hallmark of Quebec
Quebec scopes (nickelodeons) assumed this practice after 1905, contrary to American nickelodeons and Canadian “theatoriums” whose advertisements were usually limited to either window announcements or flyers distributed on the street. The owner of the Ouimetoscope, Léo-Ernest Ouimet, was a skilled advertiser. In addition to drawing attention with his camera and automobile during local shoots, Ouimet prepared press releases praising each new program at his theatre. Many newspapers gladly published these press releases without distinguishing them from news articles. Ouimet’s main competitors, including his main adversary Georges Gauvreau of the Nationoscope, soon began imitating this practice. Several years would elapse before genuine film criticism emerged.
However, scope activities did prompt a number of criticisms that were regularly reported by newspapers. The main reproaches concerned opening on Sundays, showing views that didn’t conform to Christian morals, and exhibiting films made of highly flammable material without concern for the safety of the audience. In reporting on even the most insignificant projection-related fire, the press involuntarily contributed to a mass hysteria; panicked spectators apprehensive of fires caused more injuries and deaths than the actual nitrate -induced fires – as was the case in the Laurier Palace tragedy.
Synergy in the Mass Media
The years 1912-1913 marked a turning point in the relationship between cinema and the daily press. It was during these years that movie palaces began to spread across North American cities and advertise in daily papers. As for the first columns on cinema, they began appearing around 1914. These consisted of plot summaries, portraits of stars, Hollywood gossip, and detailed movie listings at theatres in the city. Editorial columns offering actual opinions on movies were rare; the Montreal Daily Star’s Samuel Morgan-Powell and La Patrie’s Gustave Comte were among the few critics who occasionally wrote about films. However, the main content of movie-related newspaper columns was taken verbatim from the press releases written by movie exhibitors or publicity departments of studios. In the 1920s, the Saturday editions of the main newspapers began dedicating two or three pages to cinema.
Serials made their first appearances in North American newspapers during this period as well. In Montreal, the Montreal Daily Star launched the weekly publication of episodes of The Adventures of Kathlyn (produced by the Selig-Polyscope Company) on January 17, 1914. As for La Patrie, The Diamond from the Sky, a serial produced by the Mutual Company, began publication on June 26, 1915. Both working- and middle-class readers were enthralled by the many serials published in newspapers. Newspaper serials contributed significantly to the assimilation of cinema by Quebec audiences and served to reinforce a sense of community – everyone waiting together on pins and needles for the next thrilling adventure of Kathlyn, Pauline or Elaine.
The Emergence of a Specialized Press
As cinema occupied a greater place in daily newspapers, a specialized film press began to emerge. The first cinema-related magazines were addressed to members of the film industry, such as distributors, producers and theatre owners and managers. The Canadian Moving Picture Digest began publication in Montreal in 1915; its goal was to defend and serve the interests of a film industry that was largely comprised of new entrepreneurs, several of whom were also newcomers to cinema. The Digest published criticisms of current films, plot summaries, advice on managing movie theatres and editorials that vigorously defended the film industry. In 1917, the magazine left Montreal and followed a general pattern of migration which made Toronto the centre of the Canadian film industry. From 1918 to 1954, the Digest’s editor-in-chief was Ray Lewis, an energetic woman with plenty of experience in show business. For many years, Lewis fought for the autonomy of the Canadian film industry and defended the interests of independent movie theatre owners.
Other specialized journals addressed to movie fans also appeared in the United States in the early 1910s. Distributed widely in Quebec, these magazines described the lives of movie stars and the activities of Hollywood studios. The abundance of advertisements for cosmetics and household products indicates that editors assumed their readers were mostly women. In 1919, a Quebec publisher launched a French-language version of Photoplay and other American fan magazines (called “fanzines”) – Le Panorama, published monthly in Montreal. In 1921, Le Panorama was replaced by Le Film, which circulated until the 1960s. Still, Le Panorama and Le Film published relatively little original material on cinema in Quebec and Montreal. Their contents consisted mostly of movie star portraits and gossip.

test
<< Agrandir le document >>
Bioscope en l'an 1900
description
Pour en savoir plus
Bonville, Jean de. 1988. La presse québécoise de 1884 à 1914 : genèse d’un média de masse. Québec : Les Presses de l’Université Laval.
Gaudreault, André, Jean-Pierre Sirois-Trahan. 2002. La vie ou du moins ses apparences : émergence du cinéma dans la presse de la Belle Époque (1894-1910). Montréal : GRAFICS/Cinémathèque québécoise.
Le cinéma dans la presse
 
Une invention sensationnelle
Premier véritable média de masse, la presse quotidienne à grand tirage naît au cours des deux dernières décennies du XIXe siècle. À Montréal, La Patrie et La Presse voient respectivement le jour en 1879 et 1884, tandis qu’à Québec Le Soleil est publié pour la première fois en 1880. Du côté anglophone, les tirages du Montreal Daily Star – le plus important journal canadien au début du XXe siècle – et du Quebec Chronicle grimpent rapidement à la même époque.
La presse joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’histoire du cinéma. C’est d’abord par le biais des comptes rendus émerveillés des journalistes que le public se familiarise avec les fantastiques appareils du « sorcier de Menlo Park » – Thomas Edison –, des frères Lumière et des autres inventeurs des vues animées. En accordant une telle couverture à l’invention du cinéma, les journaux espèrent attirer de nombreux lecteurs. En effet, l’appétit du public pour les progrès de la science et de la technologie a été fortement attisé au cours de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle par les progrès de la fée électricité, ainsi que par l’invention – entre autres choses – du phonographe, de la voiture automobile et des rayons X.
À Montréal, les premières représentations du Kinétoscope Edison en décembre 1894 et du Cinématographe Lumière en juin 1896 donnent lieu à une surenchère d’éloges dans la presse. Cela ne saurait surprendre quand on sait que le Kinétoscope est exhibé en primeur dans les bureaux du Montreal Daily Star et que plusieurs journalistes comptent parmi les quelques privilégiés conviés à la première démonstration du Cinématographe. Les spectacles de vues animées constituent de plus de très bons clients des journaux, puisqu’ils dépendent largement de leurs espaces publicitaires pour attirer leur clientèle.
Une particularité québécoise
Les scopes québécois poursuivront cette pratique après 1905. Ils se démarquent en cela des nickelodeon américains et des theatorium canadiens, dont les activités publicitaires se limitent généralement à l’apposition d’affiches sur la devanture et à la distribution de prospectus dans la rue. Léo-Ernest Ouimet, le propriétaire du Ouimetoscope, se révèle un habile publicitaire. En plus d’attirer l’attention avec sa caméra et sa voiture lors de ses tournages locaux, Ouimet fait préparer des communiqués louant chaque nouveau programme de son théâtre. Plusieurs journaux publient volontiers cette réclame sans la distinguer des articles rédigés par leurs journalistes. Les principaux concurrents de Ouimet, au premier rang desquels se trouve Georges Gauvreau du Nationoscope, ne tardent pas à l’imiter. Plusieurs années s’écouleront avant que naisse une véritable critique cinématographique.
Cependant, les activités des scopes suscitent de nombreuses critiques régulièrement rapportées par les journaux. On leur reproche notamment d’être ouverts le dimanche, de montrer des vues non conformes à la morale chrétienne, ou encore d’exhiber des films faits d’un matériel hautement inflammable sans égard à la sécurité des spectateurs. De ce fait, en rapportant chaque incendie, même le plus insignifiant, survenu lors d’une projection, les journaux alimentent bien involontairement une dangereuse psychose : au fil des ans, les mouvements de panique dans les salles de cinéma et de théâtre font plus de victimes que les incendies causés par la pellicule nitrate. En fait foi la tragédie du Laurier Palace.
Des médias de masse en synergie
Les années 1912-1913 marquent un tournant dans les relations entre le cinéma et la presse quotidienne. C’est à cette époque que les palaces cinématographiques, qui se développent alors dans les grandes villes d’Amérique du Nord, commencent à acheter quotidiennement des espaces publicitaires dans les journaux. Les premières rubriques consacrées au cinéma apparaissent quant à elles vers 1914. On y retrouve des résumés de films, des portraits de stars, des échos d’Hollywood, ainsi que des descriptions détaillées des programmes des cinémas de la ville. Les commentaires éditoriaux y sont cependant rares ; Samuel Morgan-Powell du Montreal Daily Star et Gustave Comte de La Patrie comptent parmi les rares critiques à traiter de cinéma de temps à autre. L’essentiel du contenu des rubriques cinématographiques des journaux provient plutôt directement de communiqués de presse préparés par les départements de la publicité des studios et les propriétaires de cinémas. Dans les années 1920, les éditions du samedi des grands journaux comptent jusqu’à deux ou trois pages traitant de cinéma.
Les serials font leur apparition à cette même époque dans les journaux nord-américains. À Montréal, le Montreal Daily Star entame le 17 janvier 1914 la publication hebdomadaire des épisodes de The Adventures of Kathlyn, produits par la compagnie Selig, Polyscope. La Patrie publiera quant à elle Le diamant du firmament, un serial produit par la compagnie Mutual, à partir du 26 juin 1915. Les nombreux serials publiés par les journaux et montrés dans les salles de cinéma passionnent un large public issu tant des classes populaires que de la classe moyenne. Cette présence du cinéma dans la presse quotidienne contribue en somme à intégrer le cinéma dans la vie des Québécois et des Québécoises et à renforcer leur sentiment de communauté : tous attendent ensemble la suite des palpitantes aventures de Kathlyn, Pauline ou Elaine.
Naissance d’une presse spécialisée
Parallèlement à cette présence de plus en plus marquée du cinéma dans la presse quotidienne, une presse cinématographique spécialisée ne tarde pas à se développer. Les premiers magazines spécialisés dans le cinéma sont destinés aux membres de l’industrie : propriétaires et gérants de salles de cinéma, distributeurs, producteurs, etc. Publié à Montréal à partir de 1915, le Canadian Moving Picture Digest vise à défendre et servir cette industrie largement constituée de nouveaux entrepreneurs, dont plusieurs sont de surcroît de nouveaux arrivants. Le Digest publie des conseils portant sur tous les aspects de la gestion d’une salle de cinéma, des résumés et des critiques des films mis en distribution, de même que des éditoriaux défendant avec vigueur l’industrie cinématographique. En 1917, il suit la grande migration faisant de Toronto le centre de l’industrie cinématographique canadienne et quitte Montréal. De 1918 à 1954, le Digest y sera dirigé par Ray Lewis, une femme énergique bénéficiant d’une longue expérience de l’industrie du spectacle. Lewis se battra pendant plusieurs décennies pour l’autonomie de l’industrie cinématographique canadienne et la défense des intérêts des salles de cinéma indépendantes.
D’autres journaux spécialisés destinés aux fans de cinéma apparaissent par ailleurs aux États-Unis au début des années 1910. Largement distribués au Québec, ces magazines traitent essentiellement de la vie des stars de cinéma et des activités des studios d’Hollywood. Les abondantes publicités de cosmétiques et de produits domestiques qu’on y publie révèlent que leurs éditeurs leur présument un lectorat essentiellement féminin. En 1919, un éditeur québécois décide de publier un pendant francophone du Photoplay et des autres fans magazines américains. Il s’agit du Panorama, mensuel publié à Montréal. En 1921, Le Panorama est remplacé par Le Film, qui sera publié jusque dans les années 1960. Le Panorama et Le Film publient toutefois relativement peu de matériel original traitant de la vie cinématographique au Québec et à Montréal, l’essentiel de leur contenu étant constitué de potins et de portraits de stars.